Commission Junction does not publish advertiser pricing. There is no pricing page on cj.com, no plan grid and no stated fee: every advertiser fills in a Get Started form and receives a private quote. The cost is built from a share of the commission you pay publishers plus platform fees, and because that share is charged on the commission rather than on the sale, the effective rate moves with your own commission rate rather than with your revenue.
That last sentence is the part almost every review of CJ gets wrong, and it is the reason a CJ quote is so hard to compare against Awin or impact.com. This page lays out what CJ actually publishes, which figures circulating online are unsourced, the arithmetic that converts a network share into a number you can put next to a published price, and the four lines to get in writing before you sign anything.
How much does Commission Junction cost?
Nobody outside CJ and its advertisers can answer that with a number, and any page that gives you one without naming a source is guessing. What CJ does publish, checked on its own site in September 2026, is everything except the price.
| What buyers want to know | What CJ publishes |
|---|---|
| Advertiser plan prices | Nothing. No pricing page exists on cj.com |
| Network share or take rate | Not stated anywhere |
| Platform or monthly fee | Not stated anywhere |
| Setup fee or deposit | Not stated anywhere |
| Contract term | Not stated anywhere |
| How you get a price | A Get Started form at cj.com/join, or a Talk with CJ conversation |
| Publisher cost to join | Free. Payouts from $50 by direct deposit or $100 by check |
| Network scale | Over 3,800 global brands, over 167,000 publishers, 157 million annual transactions |
| Ownership | Part of Publicis Groupe, aligned with Publicis Media |
Search for the missing numbers and you will find three of them repeated with total confidence across review and directory sites: a $500 annual network access fee, a $3,000 deposit against publisher payouts, and a network share of roughly 30% of commission. None of those carries a source, and CJ states none of them. They may well be in the right neighborhood for some advertisers, because privately quoted deals vary by vertical, volume and region anyway. They are still rumors, and budgeting off a rumor is how a channel program ends its first year over plan.
What CJ Affiliate pricing is actually made of
Even without the numbers, the shape of a network deal is well understood, and knowing the shape is most of the battle. A CJ-style agreement is assembled from four components, and your total cost is the sum of them.
- The network share. A percentage of the commission you pay each publisher, taken on top of that commission. This is normally the largest line and the one that scales.
- A platform or access fee. A recurring charge for the account, the tracking and the reporting, quoted monthly or annually.
- A deposit against payouts. Networks pay publishers on your behalf, so they hold a float. It is usually refundable, but it is cash out of your working capital on day one.
- Managed service, if you take it. An account team that recruits publishers and runs the program. Priced separately, and often the piece that justifies a network over software.
Two of those four are one-time or fixed, so they stop mattering as you grow. The network share never stops mattering, which makes it the number to negotiate hardest and the number to understand before you do.
Why a 30% network share is not the same as a 2.5% fee
This is the single most useful piece of arithmetic in affiliate pricing, and it is almost never spelled out.
Awin charges 3.5% of transaction value on its Access plan and 2.5% on Accelerate (our Awin pricing page runs that bill at six sales levels). impact.com charges 2.5% of partner-driven transactions on every plan. Both of those are percentages of the sale. A network share is a percentage of the commission. Those are different denominators, so the two numbers cannot be compared as they stand, and a 30% share is nowhere near twelve times more expensive than a 2.5% fee.
Convert it with one multiplication. Your effective cost as a percentage of sale value equals the network share multiplied by your average commission rate.
| Your commission rate | 20% network share | 25% network share | 30% network share |
|---|---|---|---|
| 5% | 1.00% of sale value | 1.25% | 1.50% |
| 8% | 1.60% | 2.00% | 2.40% |
| 10% | 2.00% | 2.50% | 3.00% |
| 15% | 3.00% | 3.75% | 4.50% |
| 20% | 4.00% | 5.00% | 6.00% |
Read the crossovers off that grid. A 30% network share costs the same as Awin Accelerate's 2.5% of sale value when your commission rate is about 8.3%, and the same as Awin Access's 3.5% at about 11.7%. Below those commission rates a share of commission is the cheaper structure, sometimes dramatically so. Above them, a flat percentage of sale value wins.
The practical consequence is that a low-commission business and a high-commission business should reach opposite conclusions from the same two quotes. A retailer paying publishers 4% on hard goods is well served by a commission share. A software company paying 20% recurring is not, because at 20% commission a 30% share is costing 6% of revenue, which is more than double what a sale-value fee would take. If you want the same math run against the platforms that do publish their rates, our breakdown of affiliate software pricing puts the published grids side by side.
Is CJ Affiliate free?
For publishers, yes. Signing up as a CJ publisher costs nothing, although you apply to each advertiser program individually and approval is not automatic. Payout thresholds start at $50 for direct deposit and $100 for check, and a dormant account fee of $10 a month is deducted from inactive balances until they reach zero. For advertisers it is not free and never has been, and the advertiser cost is exactly the thing CJ does not publish.
Commission Junction cost compared to networks that publish prices
The fastest way to sanity-check a CJ quote is to hold it against the two large competitors that do put numbers on a page. Both were re-checked on their own sites in September 2026.
| CJ Affiliate | Awin | impact.com | |
|---|---|---|---|
| Entry price | Quoted privately | Access $49/mo | Starter from $30/mo |
| Mid plans | Quoted privately | Accelerate from $99/mo | Essentials from $500/mo, Pro from $2,500/mo |
| Percentage fee | A share of commission, rate not published | 3.5% on Access, 2.5% on Accelerate | 2.5% on every plan |
| Charged on | The commission you pay publishers | Sale value | Partner-driven transaction value |
| Entry terms | Not published | First month free, three-month minimum, 14-day notice | No minimum fee in the first 30 days on Starter |
| Network size | 167,000+ publishers | Directory Awin puts at 1M+ partners | 90,000-partner marketplace from Essentials |
| Owner | Publicis Groupe | Axel Springer 80%, United Internet 20% | Independent |
Awin is worth a specific mention because it publishes an unusually honest worked example: on a $100 sale at 6% commission, the publisher earns $6 and Awin takes $3.50. That is 58% of what the partner earned, from a fee that reads as "3.5%". It is the clearest possible demonstration that the denominator is the whole story. We run that comparison in full on Awin vs impact.com, where both vendors happen to charge the same 2.5% and the decision collapses onto the flat fee.
The four numbers to get in writing before you sign
Because there is no published price to hold CJ to, the entire burden of getting a comparable deal falls on the questions you ask. Ask for these four, in writing, on the order form rather than in an email thread.
- The network share, and exactly what it is charged on. Confirm in words that it applies to the commission and not to sale value, and ask whether it applies to every transaction type or only to sales.
- The recurring platform fee, stated monthly or annually, and whether it is a floor that rises with volume.
- Any deposit or prepayment against publisher payouts, whether it is refundable, and when it comes back.
- The term, the notice period and the renewal mechanism. Auto-renewal on an annual network contract is where a negotiated first-year rate quietly becomes a worse second-year rate.
That fourth point deserves a little care in practice. Network agreements renew on their own schedule, and the person who negotiated the original terms has often moved on by the time the notice window opens, so the executed copy is worth storing somewhere that tracks the renewal date rather than leaving it in a mailbox. A first-year rate you cannot find in month eleven is a rate you will not be defending.
When a flat license costs less than a network share
Run the break-even before you decide the category, not after. Take any flat annual software price and divide it by the effective percentage you worked out from the grid above, and you get the partner revenue at which the percentage model becomes the more expensive one.
Take our own top plan as the worked example: $269 a month is $3,228 a year. At an effective 1.5% of sale value, the crossover is $215,200 of annual partner revenue. At 2.5%, it is $129,120. At 3.0%, it is $107,600. At 4.5%, it is $71,733. Below the crossover the percentage model is cheaper and you should take it; above it, every additional dollar of partner revenue is being taxed for software you already have.
The honest caveat is that this comparison only holds when the two products do the same job, and for a consumer brand chasing coupon, cashback and content publishers they genuinely do not. A network sells you access to publishers, and 167,000 of them is a real asset you cannot replicate with software.
Where the comparison does hold is B2B. If your partners are resellers, agencies, implementation firms and technology partners, they are not in any affiliate directory, because companies like that do not browse marketplaces looking for programs to join. You have to go and find them, and paying a network share for access to publishers you will never recruit is the most expensive way to discover that. That is the case for a CJ Affiliate alternative built for B2B programs: research the companies already selling to your buyers, rank them by fit, send outreach a person approves, and pay a flat published fee that does not rise when the program works.
Does CJ Affiliate take a percentage of sales?
Not directly. CJ takes a share of the commission you pay publishers, plus platform fees, so its charge is a percentage of a percentage. The effective cost as a share of your revenue therefore depends on your own commission rate: the same network share costs 1.5% of sale value at a 5% commission rate and 4.5% at a 15% rate. CJ does not publish the share it charges.
Is Commission Junction the same as CJ Affiliate?
Yes. The company was founded in Santa Barbara, California in 1998 as Commission Junction and now trades simply as CJ, though the original name is still searched far more often than the new one. It passed through ValueClick and Conversant, and today sits inside Publicis Groupe, aligned with Publicis Media, with Santi Pierini as CEO since 2024. Anything written about Commission Junction pricing and anything written about CJ Affiliate pricing describe the same network.
Is CJ Affiliate worth it for a small program?
Usually not, and the reason is structural rather than a judgment about quality. A private quote process, a platform fee and a payout deposit all carry fixed costs that a small program amortizes badly, and the managed service that makes a network worth its share only pays off at volume. Below roughly $100,000 of annual partner revenue, a published self-serve platform such as Awin at $49 a month or impact.com at $30 a month gets you tracking and payouts for a knowable number, and you can move up to a network later with your data intact. Our comparison of Partnerize pricing covers the same quote-only problem at the enterprise end of the market, and if Awin is already your network and its fee is the issue, our Awin alternative comparison shows where the crossover sits.